Michigan Contractors License
Visit us at our new site just for the State of Michigan!
You will find all the up to date information for obtaining your builders license, completing your continuing education, or getting your RRP certification.
Tough economic times require change. Changing ideas, changing careers, changing options. Now is the time to enhance your skills and improve your financial position. Obtaining your Michigan Builders License will enable you to charge customers and avoid fines of up to $25,000 for working without a license on your first offense.
Effective June 1, 2008, if you are applying for a Residential Builder or Maintenance & Alteration (M&A) Contractor license, you must complete 60 hours of approved prelicense education courses. Licensees applying for renewal of their license will be required to confirm that they possess a copy of the current Michigan Residential Code. This book can be ordered on our website by going to our online bookstore, CLICK HERE.
The Best Builders Pre-License Course at an Exceptional Value!
One of the most important steps in obtaining your Michigan Contractor License is preparing to take the contractors test. Our 60 hour pre-license builders class provides you with a way to reach your goal of getting a Michigan builders license in the most efficient way possible. Here is what we can offer to you:
- A 2 week ACCELERATED Michigan 60 hour pre-license course for people who don't have time to waste.
- The essential information you need to PASS the builders exam, presented to you in effective ways to assist in memory retention.
- The only company that offers Michigan Builders License Exam Simulation software which allows you to practice the exam at home.
- FREE Carpentry and Building Construction book which is the basis for most of the questions on the exam.
- Knowledgeable and experienced instructors teaching you best practices in the industry.
- Vital and best practices for operating a money-making construction business.
- Over 20 years of experience teaching builders license classes with exceptional results. 98% success rate!
- Humor! Our classes are based on entertaining ways to learn.
- A company with a strong reputation accredited by the Better Business Bureau.
You don't want to miss out on an opportunity that could transform career!
To view our upcoming seminar dates, CLICK HERE.
How to acquire your Michigan Builders License
The following are the requirements to obtain your Michigan Residential Builders license:
- Complete an approved State of Michigan 60 Hour Pre-License Builders Course and obtain a certificate of completion from the provider. See course dates, CLICK HERE.
- Download the builder license applications at www.michigan.gov/builders. Follow the instructions and complete each of the following documents. The first document is the Individual Residential Builder License Application, CLICK HERE. The second document is the Residential Builder and Maintenance and Alteration Contractor Pre License Education Reporting Form, CLICK HERE. Submit the required fees and documents to:
MI Department of Labor and Economic Growth
Bureau of Commercial Services – Builders Unit
P.O. Box 30245
Lansing, MI 48909
Fax: (517) 373-2162
- The State of Michigan Licensing Division Builders Unit will review the application documents. Once approved, the Department will send an 'Authorization to Test' form. Allow 6 to 8 weeks.
The next step is registering to take the Michigan builders license exam. The State of Michigan uses PSI Examination Services to administer the builders test. To register for the Michigan Residential Builders Exam:
- FAX - Complete the Examination Registration Form in the Candidate Information Bulletin and fax it to (702) 932-2666. Please allow 4 business days to process your registration.
- Standard Mail - Complete the Examination Registration Form and send in the original form to PSI with the appropriate examination fee.
- Internet - For retakes only, log onto www.psiexams.com and complete the online test registration form. Once you complete the form you will be given a list of available dates to schedule your Michigan builders license exam.
To schedule your Michigan Builders testing date:
Call PSI at (800) 733-9267, 24 hours a day and schedule using the Automated Registration System or speak with a representative between 7:30 A.M. to 8:00 P.M. ET.
Builders license exams are given at the following locations:
- Grand Rapids
Included with the Michigan Contractor Prelicense Course is the Candidate Information Bulletin which outlines the topics covered on the General Contractors Exam. Complete instructions for taking the Michigan construction license exam and directions to the testing centers are also provided.
After completing our Michigan Pre-License Course you are ready to take the contractors license exam. You can arrive with confidence knowing that you are prepared for the questions on the test. It is recommended that you arrive 30 minutes prior to your scheduled testing time. You must present two (2) valid forms of identification when you arrive at the testing center. One of the ID's must have a photograph and your signature. A driver's license will satisfy this requirement. The name on the application must exactly match the name on the photo ID used to check in for the builders test. In addition, you should bring a non-programmable calculator. Our Michigan Builder Prelicense Course will prepare you for the following 2 exams:
Part 1 Business and Law Exam - There are 50 questions on the exam and you must answer at least 36 questions correctly in order to pass. The minimum passing score is 72%. You are allowed 75 minutes to complete the exam.
Part 2 - Residential Builder Exam - There are 100 questions on the Residential Builder exam and you must answer at least 73 questions correctly in order to pass. The minimum passing score is 73%. You are allowed 150 minutes to complete the exam.
- You'll be notified immediately after testing if you passed the exam. PSI will notify the State of Michigan Licensing Division, who will send you your Michigan construction license and identification card.
License Cycle and Fees sd
License Term: Effective June 1, 2008, the license cycle for a Residential Builder or Maintenance & Alteration Contractor license will be 3 years, expiring May 31, 2011. Licenses issued on or after February 2, 2008 will be issued for the June 1, 2008 to May 31, 2011 license cycle.
License Fees: Effective June 1, 2008, the fees for a new license application will be $225.
In construction the saying, “Do it right the first time” is often heard. We believe it also applies to getting your Michigan Construction License. Prepare for your future with a reputable company who can provide you with what you need.
Michigan Contractors License | Michigan Builder License
Order Your Copy of the Contractors License Software Today!